Conference Tip # 3 Preparing Clips and Samples

Continuing my reposts of conference tips from last year. Clips and samples are important to pack for a conference. Add your comments on how you prepare yours I’d love to hear about it and any questions you may have about them.

JUBILEE WRITER

I carry my clips and samples in a three ring binder with plastic sleeves. I carry my clips and samples in a three ring binder with plastic sleeves.

Clips and samples show the writing world what you can do. Appointments with publishers go smoother when you can show rather than tell what you write. Let me define the two.

Clips

These are articles, poems, stories, devotionals, editorials, whatever you’ve had published. The term clips refers to articles cut out of magazines and periodicals. Some of your clips might be copies of magazine pages or print offs of website articles. Your most recent publications are best. No need to show twenty year old newspaper clippings. (I really have some of those.) Be sure the date and magazine title are somewhere on the copy. If you have a link to your work, I suggest you share a hardcopy. Wifi access may not be available where you meet with publishers and you waste precious minutes of your…

View original post 390 more words

Leave a Reply

