Three Boredom-Busting Tips

I’m preparing to write my fourth novel. Before digging in I like to read blogs and craft books to refresh me. This post is one of those. I’m sharing this great fine with my readers. Linda always has practical things to encourage her followers. Hope you find it as helpful as I did.

Linda W. Yezak

If writers already follow this maxim, they must have a higher level of boredom tolerance than I do. And if you’re like me, flipping pages to see when the action starts or where the next interesting tidbit of character insight is revealed, you have a low tolerance for boredom too.

And it’s for that reason, I’d amend the honorable Mr. Mortimer’s rule to don’t bore your reader.

How do you make certain you keep your reader hooked throughout your novel? The basic answer is to have a great plot with intriguing characters and high stakes. You must have at least that much to begin with, there’s no other way around it.

But to fine-tune it, add these three tips:

  • Provide action that is relevant to the plot.

Everything in your scenes should have a purpose, and the primary purpose is to move the plot forward. So if you’re describing…

View original post 808 more words

2 thoughts on “Three Boredom-Busting Tips

Leave a Reply

